PESHAWAR: The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government has established eight training schools across the province to train police force on scientific lines.

Officials at the Police Department said these schools have been established in Peshawar, Kohat, Nowshera, Mardan and Abbottabad, Radio Pakistan reported.

So far about twenty-one thousand policemen have been trained in investigation, riot management, handling of explosives, information technology and traffic management.

KP police suffered heavy casualties during war on terror. Around 1,655 officers and jawans have sacrificed their lives in line of duty during the long years of war against terror and till the 1st quarter of the year 2018.

During the war against terrorism, Peshawar lost 458 policemen, Bannu 159, Swat 135, Dera Ismail Khan 136, Mardan 117, Charsadda 87, Hangu 67, Kohat 86, Swabi 61, Lakki Marwat 52, Lower Dir 44, Buner 32, Upper Dir 32, Shangla 27, Nowshera 32, Tank 29, Mansehra 34, Karak 19, Chitral 11, Haripur 10, Abbottabad 13, Battagram 5, Tor Ghar 5 and Kohistan Police sacrificed 4 cops.

Courtesy: TNN