By Ali Gul Rind

Sunita Parmar, a first woman candidate from the Hindu community on a general seat PS 56

Political activity in Tharparkar, a rural district in Sindh, is gaining momentum with the submission of the nomination papers by the candidates of that area. Candidates of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Arbab Group and Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) will contest in the general elections of Pakistan from Tharparkar.

Tharparkar has two seats from the National Assembly and four seats from the Provincial Assembly. The number of papers submitted for National Assembly is 28 whereas for Provincial Assembly it is 93.

Arbab Ghulam Rahim, Former CM Sindh

PTI’s senior leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi will contest the election from NA-221 Tharparkar against PPP’s senior candidate Pir Noor Muhammad Shah Jillani which is expected to be an exciting competition.

 Due to the disagreements among the local leadership of PPP which could not be solved, the party has failed to distribute the tickets as yet.

Nazia Suhrab, a candidate from PS 55

GDA’s Arbab Zakaullah and Rana Humair Singh have submitted the nomination papers for NA-222 whereas PPP’s Arbab Lutfullah has been trying to give PPP’s ticket for NA-222 to his brother Ameer Amanullah.

Dost Ali Rahmo from PS 54, Raees Ghani Khoso, Ali Akbar Rahmo and Siraj Soomro from PS 55 and Sunita Parmar from PS 56 have submitted their nomination papers.

PPP workers are protesting in Nagarparkar against the ticket distribution to a non-local candidate.

On the other hand, PPP has submitted the ticket to Qasim Siraj Soomro to contest from PS 55 on which the senior local and influential leader Raees Ghani Khan Khoso has announced to rebel against the party.

Since Qasim Siraj Soomro is a not a local leader of NangarParkar, in view of this situation, a protest was also held at NangarParkar, the motive of which was to give ticket of PS 55 NangarParkar to the local leader.

According to the local people, previously whenever non-local leaders have been elected for the provincial assembly, they have not looked back and helped to solve the local issues after collecting their votes.