PESHAWAR: For the first time in the history of Pakistan, a T-20 league for women will kick off in Peshawar on 26 October.

Eight teams from different parts of the country will participate in the Women T-20 Cricket League organised by the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Directorate of Sports. The teams will represent Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan, Islamabad, Kashmir and tribal districts.

The names of the teams resemble the names of Pakistan Super League (PSL) teams. The team from Peshawar has been given the name of Peshawar Peghlo (young women of Peshawar).

Event Organiser Robina Sadaf Khan said in a media briefing that PSL, featuring men, was being organised since the last few years, but no one was paying heed to organising a league for women, who constitute half the population of the country. She said the event will bring forward talented girls from all parts of the country. She said the girls shining in the tournament will also get chance to display their talent on national and international level.

Robina said the hosting of the event by Peshawar will also send out a positive message about our region. She appealed to Prime Minister Imran Khan and Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) to extend help in making this positive event successful. She said all the participating teams are preparing for the tournament for the last two months. She said all teams will arrive in Peshawar on 25 October.

Courtesy: TNN